God Do What He Want.

“Then the Lord said, “You had compassion on the plant for which you did not work and which you did not cause to grow, which came up overnight and perished overnight.  Should I not have compassion on Nineveh, the great city in which there are more than 120,000 persons who do not know the difference between their right and left hand, as well as many animals?” – Jonah 4:10-11

It still amazes me when I read a story in the Bible that I thought I knew well.  I read the last few paragraphs of Jonah and realised I completely overlooked it the last time I read the story.  I would even be willing to go so far as saying it’s more important to me now than the rest of the book.

I chuckled when it became apparent that God was about to completely burn Jonah with the plant demonstration, only because He does the same thing to me all the time…basically comical at this point…sorry for never learning my lesson, God.  Ok, back to the verse.

How many times a day, even an hour, do I think I am entitled to tell God what to do or what is best for me?  Any time is too many.

God is so gracious.  And smart — the smartest.  He doesn’t just say “no”, He says “no; here’s why”.

Thank you, Lord, for knowing me better than anyone else and for caring enough about me to constantly pay attention to me and customising my life experiences in a way that will allow me to see and understand real truth. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

