LOVE IS NOT WHAT WE THINK IT IS: PART I

I was reading Proverbs 8 and verse 17 struck a chord the instant I read it. 

I love those who love me, and those who seek me early and diligently shall find me. (AMP)

I couldn’t help but think what some people might think when they read that. I’m sure there are people out there who read that and say, “Well, that’s typical. The God of this bible doesn’t seem like anything special. That is conditional love. Right there. I see it. I knew it. NOT to be trusted! This book is fake.”

And another one bites the dust…spiritually speaking. 

My thoughts continued seeking an answer to why this verse about love is written this way. Why would God leave His Word so open to ridicule? Then I started remembering all of the complaints and excuses people have about God the Father and Jesus and all the things. And I realised…

LOVE IS NOT WHAT WE THINK IT IS…GOD IS NOT WHAT WE THINK HE IS.

So then, the big question is: what is love?

There is an amazing sense of mystery to this universe. And the idea of God and who/what/when/how He is is the most intriguing one, because every great mystery has everything to do with whoever created it. 

I, we, love comprehending things. We love understanding and having closure and making sense of things. I will tell you a secret about me…come in a little closer…I don’t know anything. 

Now, if you know me, I pretend to know everything. And TBH, I want to know everything. But the more I learn, the more I understand how little I actually know. Now, pay attention, this has a lot to do with my point. Think about it…

the more we learn, the better we understand that we know nothing at all.

It’s a crazy paradox. Research the internet a bit and you will find heaps of legitimate scientists stating the same basic mental impression. 

This idea helps me to understand that I don’t actually comprehend what love is, what God is. We have hints and ideas as to what love is and how it works, but truly, they’re only bits and pieces forming the tip of the iceberg. 

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 explains what love is perfectly and beautifully (it’s long, but so good; read it all):

Love endures long and is patient and kind; love never is envious nor boils over with jealousy, is not boastful or vainglorious, does not display itself haughtily. It is not conceited (arrogant and inflated with pride); it is not rude (unmannerly) and does not act unbecomingly. Love (God’s love in us) does not insist on its own rights or its own way, for it is not self-seeking; it is not touchy or fretful or resentful; it takes no account of the evil done to it [it pays no attention to a suffered wrong]. It does not rejoice at injustice and unrighteousness, but rejoices when right and truth prevail. Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and it endures everything [without weakening]. Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end]. (AMP)

If you read that thoughtfully and prayerfully, your mind will be blown every time. But it’s difficult to fully grasp. Sometimes I read it and think, “That was amazing but it’s not that easy. God, you are the only one who can actually do that.” Then He answers, “Exactly.”

Jesus is the only one who ever loved, is loving, and always will love perfectly.

We are to strive after his example knowing we aren’t perfect, but always reaching for it, never giving up, and always getting up after we fall. 

If you can relate to that, read my next post: LOVE IS NOT WHAT WE THINK IT IS: PART II. 

There I will talk about what love sometimes feels like as the creation of God. It’s hard and confusing, but only temporarily.

I hope this helps you to move toward understanding a little better what true love really is, what (or who) God’s love really is. 

One thought on “LOVE IS NOT WHAT WE THINK IT IS: PART I

  1. Awsome sun such a good word Gods love flows and works threw us when we realize its all about him and nothing about us , we say yes to jesus and surrender our will to him so His love can live threw us His gifts part of us ,when we decrease He increases. Love you sunny

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

